Logo


Cross-cultural Training

Objectives Contents Languages Duration
Methods Focus Participants Form

Cross-cultural Training
Objectives

The objectives of international and cross-cultural preparatory trainings conducted by China Consultancy are to enhance practical cross-cultural behavioural and communication compentencies.


Methods I

To achieve these objectives we will convey cognitive elements, draw on learnings gained from practical exercises during our workshops and use reflections of individual real-life experience (seminar and workshop aspects).


- The Seminar Aspect -
The participants are provided with analytical tools to enable them to understand and possibly anticipate their partner's special cultural perceptions, which deviate from their own cultural standards, as well as their ways of thinking and behaviour. On this basis behavioural and communication strategies are developed for dealing with partners from different cultures.


- The Workshop Aspect -
The cognitive tools presented are made experienceable and reinforced by practical exercises which the participants work on during the trainings, so that it becomes ingrained on the emotional level. Applied forms of instruction and learning include ...

  • critical incidents
  • case studies
  • role plays
  • identity work
  • group activities
  • discussions
  • open question time
  • reflections

Methods II
Seminar- and workshop aspects can be put into practice by a single trainer as well as by a bicultural team of trainers. China Consultancy will consult you in this regard and design the best options catering to your current needs.


Contents

China Consultancy conducts international and systemic cross-cultural trainings on specific countries and regions as well as workshops on cultural awareness, self-awareness and diversity:

- Kooperation with specific Countries and Regions -
International and systemic cross-cultural trainings on specific countries and regions conducted by China Consultancy provide both in-depth support for working and living in the target region and for cooperating on a long-distance basis (see: Competencies / Regions) .


Germany

    PR of China | Hongkong                  Taiwan
Northwest Europe         South East Asia

North America     Singapore, Malaysia,
     Thailand, Indonesia,
                  Vietnam

The aim of the respectively chosen subject modules is to understand and anticipate the way of thinking and the behaviour of other cultures and expand one's own behavioural patterns. This occurs by communicating and finding similarities and differences with regard to the cultural, systemic-structural and the individual level as well as in the realm of constellations of interests.

- Cultural Awareness, Self-Awareness and Diversity -
The China Consultancy workshops on cultural awareness, self-awareness and diversity highten sensitivity and awareness regarding contacts and cooperation with partners from different cultural backgrounds and simultaneously address inter-individual differences and similarities.

Experiencing, understanding and accepting cultural differences presuppose "the self" as a point of reference. Therefore, departing from different perceptions of "one's self" and "others", the participants' own cultural and individual factors and patterns of orientation are elaborated. The often unconscious influence of these factors on daily behaviour and underlying value systems are explored.

On this basis comparisons are drawn between one's own cultural standards and those of people of different cultural coining. Strategies for dealing with cultural and individual differences are elaborated.

Cultural awareness, self-awareness and diversity-workshops conducted by China Consultancy do not prepare for a specific foreign culture. Their focus is on the participants' awareness of their own ways of dealing with "otherness" and their personal strategies for coping with cultural and individual differnces. This aim is taken into account by a relatively high portion of interactive exercises and simulations during the workshops.

Hereby, the participants are instructed to take a deeper look at their own as well as at other people's and cultures' patterns of, e.g., thinking, communication and behavior.


Focus

The format and contents of China Consultancy's trainings depend on the customer's specific objectives. Trainings are conducted to prepare for ...


    • long-term assignments abroad ("expatriates")
    • selective business trips to the target culture
    • long-distance management challenges
    • contact with foreign partners in one's native
      or other countries.

Standard as well as customised trainings are offered. Customized trainings can include cross-cultural preparatory trainings as well as synchronuous and follow-up workshops as much as coaching by China Consultancy (see: Cross-cultural Coaching / Training*plus) . All of these are offered in the target region as well as in one's own country.

- Standard Trainings -
'Standard' international and cross-cultural preparatory trainings deal with the most important of the above-mentioned topics. They prepare participants for an assignment in China (Germany) or South East Asia (Northwest Europe and North America) and focus on enhancing their business skills and general behavioural and communication competencies in the target culture. (see: Competencies / Regions)

- Customised Trainings -
For customised trainings subject modules are arranged in accordance with the customer's objectives and tailored to the needs of the individual group of participants. Basic modules are recommended and on this basis the specifically required subject matter is presented. Advice is given by China Consultancy with regard to putting these modules together.

- Synchronized Workshops and Coachings -
A number of specific intercultural questions and problems do not arise until the participants experience actual interaction in the target region or in contact with partners from the foreign culture in their own country.

On-the-spot as well as follow-up workshops and coaching by China Consultancy embrace these experiences, clarify unanswered questions and put the situations experienced into a wider context. Alternative approaches are shown which expand the participants' behavioural patterns with regard to future situations and augment their intercultural cooperation competency
(see: Cross-cultural Coaching / On-the-spot Coaching and Coaching Across Cultures) .


Training Languages
China Consultancy's cooperation trainings are offered in German, English and Mandarin Chinese. Multilingual trainings are possible and beneficial, depending on the language skills of the group of participants.


Participants

China Consultancy's trainings are aimed at members of management as well as skilled personnel. This applies to all hierarchical levels. If it is to be a long-term assignment in the target region it is strongly recommended that family members be included in the seminars if they are to accompany their partner. Preparation for spouses and families is also offered.


    • Management, specialists and executive staff
    • Project managers & parent company staff
    • Members of technical professions
    • Family and partner trainings

The number of participants for a country- or region-specific cooperation training ranges from 1 to 12 persons. Cultural awareness, self-awareness and diversity-workshops should preferably be conducted with 9 to 15 participants.


Duration of Trainings

Ideally a 2,5-day workshop is recommended for a country-specific cooperation training. It depends however on the customer's individual needs and can last one or also three days. Workshops on cultural awareness, self-awareness and diversity usually take two days. For subject modules specifically requested this timeframe can vary. China Consultancy will advise you on the recommended duration of the training | workshop.

Form of Trainings

China Consultancy focuses on in-house trainings. This ensures that the trainings fulfil the customer's specific wishes and meet the participants' needs in the best possible way.

However, if requested, it is possible to conduct trainings open to staff from different companies. This offers the advantage that participants can exchange experience outside the corporate environment and also pursue networking.


© Copyright by China Consultancy 2000-22

Logo


Interkulturelles Kooperationstraining

Ziele Inhalte Sprachen Trainingsdauer
Methoden Fokus Teilnehmer Trainingsform

Internationales Kooperationstraining
Ziele

Das Ziel von internationalen und interkulturellen Kooperations- trainings der China Consultancy ist die Erweiterung von praktischer kulturübergreifender Handlungs- und Kommunikationskompetenz.


Methoden I

Zur Zielerreichung werden sowohl kognitive Elemente als auch individuelle Erfahrungsmomente aus praktischen Übungen benötigt (Seminar- und Workshopaspekt).


- Der Seminar-Aspekt -
Den Teilnehmern wird ein analytisches Instrumentarium vermittelt, welches darauf abzielt, die von eigenen Standards abweichenden kulturspezifischen Wahrnehmungen des Partners sowie sein Denken und Verhalten nachvollziehen und ggf. antizipieren zu können. Auf dieser Grundlage werden Verhaltensstrategien für den Umgang mit fremdkulturellen Partnern entwickelt.


- Der Workshop-Aspekt -
Das vermittelte kognitive Instrumentarium wird durch praktische Übungen der Teilnehmer während des Trainings erfahrbar gemacht, vertieft, und somit auf der emotionalen Ebene hinterlegt. Verwandte Lehr- und Lernformen umfassen ...

    • Critical Incidents
    • Fallstudien
    • Input
    • Rollenspiele
    • Identitätsarbeit
    • Gruppenarbeiten
    • Diskussionen
    • Offene Fragerunden
    • Reflektionsarbeit
    • Autobiographiearbeit

Methoden II
Seminar- und Workshopaspekt sind sowohl von einem Einzeltrainer als auch von einem bikulturellen Trainerteam umsetzbar. Diesbezüglich werden Sie im Vorfeld von der China Consultancy beraten.


Inhalte

Es werden systemisch-interkulturelle Trainings zu länder- und regionenspezifischer Kooperation sowie zu den Themenbereichen Cultural Awareness, Self-Awareness und Diversität durchgeführt:

- Länder- und regionenspezifische Kooperation -
Die länder- und   regionenspezifischen systemisch-interkulturellen Kooperationstrainings der China Consultancy bereiten auf die Arbeits- und Lebenssituation in bzw. mit der Zielregion vor (siehe auch: Kompetenzen / Regionen) .


Deutschland

    VR China | Hongkong              Taiwan
             
Nordwest-Europa         Südostasien

Nordamerika   Singapur, Malaysien,
  Thailand, Indonesien,
             Vietnam

Die behandelten Themenbausteine sind darauf ausgerichtet, fremdkulturelles Denken und Handeln nachzuvollziehen und eigene Verhaltensmuster entsprechend zu erweitern. Dies geschieht durch die Vermittlung und das Auffinden von Gemeinsamkeiten und Differenzen sowohl auf der kulturellen, systemisch-strukturellen und individuellen Ebene als auch im Bereich gegebener Interessen-Konstellationen.

- Cultural Awareness, Self-Awareness u. Diversität -
Die Workshops der China Consultancy zu den Themen Cultural Awareness, Self-Awareness und Diversität sensibilisieren für den Umgang mit fremdkulturellen Partnern.

Das Erfahren, Begreifen und Annehmen von systemisch-kulturellen Differenzen setzt "das Eigene" als Referenzpunkt voraus. Somit werden, ausgehend von Eigen- und Fremdwahrnehmungen, die eigenen kulturellen und individuellen Anteile und Orientierungsmuster erarbeitet und der oft unbewusste Umgang mit diesen verdeutlicht.

Auf dieser Grundlage erfolgt die Gegenüberstellung von eigenen und fremdkulturellen Standards. Strategien zum Umgang mit kulturellen Differenzen bezüglich Zeitvorstellungen, Planungsherangehen, Kommunikation, Hierarchien etc. werden erarbeitet.

Die Cultural Awareness-, Self-Awareness- und Diversitäts-Workshops der China Consultancy bereiten auf keine spezifische fremde Kultur vor. Der individuelle Umgang der Teilnehmer mit Andersartigkeit steht im Vordergrund. Dies erklärt den relativ hohen Anteil interaktiver Übungen und Simulationen des Workshops, über den die Teilnehmer zur Auseinandersetzung mit eigenen und fremden Denk-, Kommunikations- und Verhaltensmustern angeleitet werden.


Fokus

Ablauf und Inhalte der Trainings der China Consultancy sind abhängig von der spezifischen Zielstellung des Auftraggebers. Es werden Vorbereitungen auf ...


    • längerfristige Auslandsaufenthalte ("Entsandte")
    • punktuelle Geschäftsreisen in die Zielkultur
    • Management-Herausforderungen über weite Distanzen
    • den Umgang mit ausländischen Partnern im
      eigenen Heimatland

... durchgeführt. Sowohl standardisierte als auch kundenspezifische Trainings werden angeboten. Hierüber hinaus werden vorbereitende, begleitende und nachbereitende Workshops sowie Coachings der China Consultancy durchgeführt (siehe: Interkulturelles Coaching) . Genannte Leistungen werden sowohl im Zielgebiet als auch im eigenen Heimatland angeboten.

- Standardisierte Trainings -
"Standardisierte" interkulturelle Vorbereitungstrainings behandeln die wichtigsten der oben genannten Themenbereiche. Sie bereiten den Teilnehmer auf einen Aufenthalt in China (Deutschland) bzw. Südostasien (Nordwest-Europa & Nordamerika) vor und erhöhen zielgerichtet dessen Geschäftsfähigkeit sowie generelle Handlungs- und Kommunikationskompetenz in der Zielkultur (siehe: Kompetenzen / Regionen) .


- Kundenspezifische Trainings -
Bei kundenspezifischen Trainings werden die der Zielstellung des Kunden entsprechenden Themenmodule zusammengestellt und auf die jeweilige Teilnehmergruppe abgestimmt. Es empfehlen sich Basismodule, auf deren Grundlage die nachgefragten spezifischen Themen vermittelt werden. Bei der Zusammenstellung dieser Module werden Sie von der China Consultancy beraten.

- Begleitende Workshops und Coachings -
Eine Reihe von spezifischen Frage- und Problemstellungen werden sich erst aus konkreten Interaktionssituationen der Teilnehmer in der Zielregion bzw. im Umgang mit fremdkulturellen Partnern im eigenen Heimatland ergeben.

Kooperationsbegleitende und nachbereitende Workshops sowie Coachings der China Consultancy greifen diese Erfahrungen auf, klären offene Fragen und stellen die erlebten Situationen in einen grösseren Kontext ein. Es werden alternative Herangehensweisen aufgezeigt, die das Verhaltensrepertoire der Teilnehmer im Hinblick auf zukünftige Situationen erweitern und ihre Kooperationskompetenz erhöhen
(siehe: Interkulturelles Coaching / begleitendes Coaching und Coaching Across Cultures) .


Trainingssprachen

Internationale und interkulturelle Trainings der China Consultancy werden auf Deutsch, Englisch und Chinesisch (Mandarin) angeboten. Mehrsprachige Trainings sind in Abhängigkeit von der Fremdsprachenkapazität der Teilnehmergruppen möglich und sinnvoll.


Teilnehmer

Die Trainings der China Consultancy richten sich sowohl an Vertreter des Managements als auch an Fachkräfte. Dies gilt für sämtliche Hierarchieebenen. Bei langfristiger Entsendung in das Zielgebiet ist eine Miteinbeziehung der Familienangehörigen bei Mitreise dringend anzuraten. Auch Ehepartner- und Familienvorbereitungen werden angeboten.


    • Managementvertreter, Fach- & Führungskräfte
    • Projektmanager & Stammhausmitarbeiter
    • Vertreter der technischen Berufe
    • Familien- und Partnerseminare

Die Teilnehmerzahl bei einem länder- oder regionenspezifischen Training liegt zwischen 1 und 12 Personen. Cultural Awareness, Self-Awareness und Diversitäts - Workshops werden idealerweise mit 9 bis 15 Teilnehmern durchgeführt.

Trainingsdauer
Die Trainingsdauer liegt für länder- und regionenspezifische Kooperationstraining idealerweise bei zweieinhalb Tagen. Sie ist jedoch abhängig von den jeweiligen Kundenbedürfnissen und kann sowohl einen als auch drei Tage betragen. Workshops zum Thema Cultural Awareness, Self-Awareness und Diversity dauern zwei Tage. Spezifisch nachgefragte Themenmodule können von diesen zeitlichen Rahmen abweichen. Bei der Festlegung der Trainings- bzw. Workshopdauer werden Sie von der China Consultancy beraten.

Trainingsformen

Der Fokus der China Consultancy liegt auf Inhouse-Trainings, nicht auf "offenen" Trainings. Eine Ausrichtung der Trainings an spezifischen Kundenwünschen und Teilnehmerbedürfnissen ist so am besten gewährleistet.

Hiervon unberührt besteht auf Anfrage die Möglichkeit, offene Trainings für Vertreter verschiedener Unternehmen durchzuführen. Diese bieten  den Vorteil von   firmenunabhängigem Erfahrungs- austausch der Teilnehmer und Möglichkeiten zur Netzwerkbildung.


© Copyright by China Consultancy 2000-18